The Mississippi Lottery Corporation announced May 7 that it had hired Thomas Shaheen as the first president. A longtime industry veteran, Shaheen has served as the Executive Director of the North Carolina Education Lottery (December 2005-September 2010) and the CEO of the New Mexico Lottery Corporation (March 2000-November 2010). He previously worked for Linq3. Shaheen has also worked at the Florida, Georgia and Texas lotteries.

The Mississippi Lottery Corporation was established under the Alyce G. Clarke Mississippi Lottery Law, which was passed during the 2018 extraordinary session of the Mississippi State Legislature. Gov. Phil Bryant appointed the five members to the Mississippi Lottery Corporation Board of Directors in the fall. The board members include Dr. Cass Pennington, Philip A. Chamblee, Dr. Mike McGrevey, Kimberly LaRosa and Gerard Gibert.